2000 Asia-Pacific International Symposium on Cluster Computing

PREFACE

Welcome to the 2000 Asia-Pacific International Symposium on Cluster Computing (APSCC'2000)! The symposium will be held in conjunction with the Fourth International Conference/Exhibition on High Performance Computing in Asia-Pacific Region (HPCAsia2000) in Beijing, China, May 14-17, 2000. APSCC'2000 is sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Task Force on Cluster Computing (TFCC).

Cluster computing can be described as a fusion of the fields of parallel, high-performance, distributed, and highavailability computing. Cluster computing has become a hot topic of research among academic and industry community including system designers, network developers, language designers, standardizing forums, algorithm developers, graduate students and faculties. The use of clusters as computing platform is not just limited to scientific and engineering applications; there are many business applications that can benefit from the use of clusters. There are many exciting areas of development in cluster computing with new ideas as well as hybrids of old ones being deployed for production as well as research systems.

APSCC is an annual international meeting that brings together cluster computing researchers, developers, and users across the globe and serves as a forum to present their research findings as well as highlights activities in this area around Asia Pacific Rim.

We received a total of 25 technical contributions from 12 countries around the globe—USA, Germany, Australia, Russia, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Iran, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Greece, as well as China. Each paper received two peer reviews. Based on the evaluation process, we selected 3 long papers, 11 regular papers and 4 short papers with acceptance rates 12%, 44% and 16% respectively. However, after co-operative adjustment of papers those accepted by the main conference and this symposium, 21 papers have been included for presentation at the symposium.

We thank Prof. Jack Dongarra for accepting our invitation to grace the occasion with his keynote address. He has nurtured the field of high performance computing and cluster computing in particular through his works on PVM, MPI, Top500, and NetSolve.

We thank our international program committee members for donating their precious time for reviewing and offering their expert comments on the papers. We would like to thank the organizing committee of HPCAsia'2000 for their support in hosting the symposium in conjunction with their conference. We thank the entire local organizing committee of HPCAsia'2000 for helping in making the symposium successful. Our special thanks to Dr. Zhiwei Xu for his support in hosting the symposium.

We hope that your participation in the event will create a new network of colleagues, friendship, and provide a great opportunity to see the latest developments in cluster computing research in both industry and academia.

Our millennium edition of this meeting, "2001 Asia-Pacific International Symposium on Cluster and Network Computing (CNC'2001)", is being scheduled to be held in Brisbane, Australia. We hope to see you all again in Australia next Spring.

Rajkumar Buyya

General Chair School of Computer Science and Software Engineering Monash University, Melbourne, Australia http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/~rajkumar/ Program Committee Chair University of Southern California, USA and The University of Hong Kong, China http://ceng.usc.edu/~hjin/

Hai Jin

APSCC'2000 Program Committee

David Abramson (Monash University, Australia) Bernady O. Apduhan (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan) Hamid Arabnia (University of Georgia, USA) Mark Baker (Portsmouth University, UK) Rajkumar Buyya (Monash University, Australia) Toni Cortes (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain) Khaled Day (Sultan Qaboos University, Oman) Sourav Dutta (Jadavpur University, India) Dror Feitelson (The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel) Markus Fischer (University of Mannheim, Germany) Ken Hawick (The University of Adelaide, Australia) Kai Hwang (University of Southern California, USA) Yutaka Ishikawa (Real World Computing Partnership, Japan) Hai Jin (University of Southern California, USA) Chung-Ta King (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan) Nikolav V. Kuchin (Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia) Sunggu Lee (POSTECH, Korea) Paul Lu (University of Alberta, Canada) Peter Luksch (TU Munich, Germany) Nikos Mastorakis (Hellenic Naval Academy, Greece) Teo Yong Meng (National University of Singapore, Singapore) Mohamed Othman (University Putra Malaysia, Malaysia) Sung-Soon Park (Anyang University, Korea) Lalit M. Patnaik (Indian Institute of Science, India) Ira Pramanick (Sun Microsystems, USA) Radharamanan Radhakrishnan (University of Cincinnati, USA) Mohan Ram (Centre for Development of Advanced Computing, India) C. P. Ravikumar (Indian Institute of Technology, India) Wolfgang Rehm (TU Chemnitz, Germany) Marcel Rosu (IBM T.J.Watson Research Center, USA) Harjinder Singh Sandhu (York University, Canada) H.S.Shahhoseini (Iran University of Science & Technology, Iran) Thomas L. Sterling (California Institute of Technology, USA) Zhimin Tang (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China) Andrei Tchernykh (CICESE Research Center, Mexico) Bernard Tourancheau (Universite Claude Bernard de Lyon, France) Putchong Uthayopas (Kasetsart University, Bangkok) Cho-Li Wang (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) Philip A. Wilsey (University of Cincinnati, USA) Xiaodong Zhang (The College of William and Mary, USA) Weimin Zheng (Tsinghua University, China) Albert Zomaya (University of Western Australia)